Tel: 07717 946 030Email:
Welcome to Eden Camp Museum
This is the complete record for Eden Camp Museum

Category: Visitor Attraction
Sub-Category: Living History

Return to Main Listings

Full Address:
Malton, North Yorkshire YO17 6RT
Contact Point: Nick Hill
Contact Numbers (where available):
Landline: 01653 697 777
Website, Email & Social Media (where available):
Booking Link:

Visit Member's Website

'Like' This Member on Facebook
'Follow' This Member on Twitter
The nearest town to Eden Camp Museum is Malton
Find: Find on Google Maps

Located on the outskirts of the market town of Malton in North Yorkshire, Eden Camp is a multi-award winning Modern History Theme Museum housed within the grounds of an original World War Two prisoner of war camp.

It was developed into a museum by local businessman Stan Johnson to stand as a tribute to all people, civilian and military, who endured hardship throughout World War Two.

Today, Eden Camp has people of all ages visiting from around the world to see the story of World War Two re-created using sights, sounds, smells and moving figures to create a unique atmosphere that makes it feel like you travelled back in time to wartime Britain. Housed within the buildings and grounds of a former Prisoner of War camp, a visit to our unique museum will take you back to wartime Britain. Experience the sights, sounds and even the smells of life on both the Home Front and the front Line.

Our Museum covers the history of British Military forces during the 20th Century, from the trenches of World war One, the truly world war of 1939-1945 and all post WWII conflicts since.

An exciting, enjoyable and educational day out for all the family, we suggest that you allow at least four hours visiting our six acre site.


In early 1942 the War Office identified and requisitioned a plot of land on the outskirts of Malton with the view of building a camp to accommodate Italian and German prisoners of war captured from the battlefields of Africa and Europe. A small contingent of British Army personnel, led only by a Corporal, arrived at the site and set about constructing a temporary camp for the arrival of the first prisoners.

This simple camp became the home for the first influx of prisoners, approximately 250 Italian P.O.Ws, who were tasked with creating a more permanent camp. Near the end of 1943 the Italian prisoner's moved out and the camp was used as billets for Polish forces who were amassed in preparation for the invasion of Europe. From mid 1944 until early 1949 the camp housed German prisoners. It was then used to provide accommodation for displaced persons, and later as an agricultural holiday camp and as a Ministry of Agriculture depot.

In 1955 the site was returned to its original owner who leased it to Malton Minerals to be used for drying and storing grain. Around the late 1970s some of the huts were sub-let to various individuals who used them as workshops. What had been the British compound of Eden Camp was sold and Derwent Cast Stone (now Russell's Farm Machinery) was built. With the sale of part of the site, local business Stan Johnson, bought the rest of the site in 1985 with the intention of developing a crisp manufacturing plant, however, when approached by some ex-Italian P.O.Ws seeking permission to look around their former home the idea of preserving the camp and opening it as a museum was born.

The museum first opened to the public on 21st March 1987 and comprised of 10 huts, equipped to tell the story of World War Two through the use of sights, sounds and smells. The museum slowly developed and displays were constantly being added too covering not only life on the Front Line, but also the Home Front. It was Stan's intention to pay tribute to all people from the Forces, to women in the factories, school children and people at home.

From 1990 to 1995 a series of 6 huts were opened (Huts 24-29) to create a "museum within a museum." These huts are each dedicated to tell the political and military events of World War Two from around the world, for each year of the war. During 1992 a prefab was constructed, along with a "Dig for Victory" garden to show how post-war housing was developed. Along side the prefab a memorial garden can be found.

In 2000 Hut 13 was redesigned to cover all post-World War Two conflicts that British Forces personnel were involved in. A further diversification from World War Two is Hut 11, which opened in 2001, telling the story of World War One. The new millennium also heralded the refurbishment and expansion of Hut 18, The War News Reading room, where the front page of a newspaper from every day of the war can be found.

2002 marked the beginning of a major refurbishment of Hut 10. This hut now houses the most comprehensive collection of P.O.W artefacts in the world and tells the story of P.O.Ws. In 2006 we created a new Medal Room, to display our ever increasing collection of medals and decorations, each with a unique story behind them.

In 2009 we completed the redevelopment of Hut 22, Forces Reunion, where hundreds of photos of personnel can be viewed.

Content copyright Tourism North Yorkshire © Tourism North Yorkshire Untitled Document 2018 unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.
Site Designed, Built & Maintained by Ian K on behalf of Blue Box Support, for the Tourism Association of North Yorkshire (TANY).